About Milagro Center

Our Mission

Milagro Center is a 501 (c)3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to ensure the social and academic success of underserved children and youth through Cultural Arts, Living Values, Academic Support, and Mentoring.

Our Vision

To be a center of creative cultural collaboration, engaging education and inspiration that dissolves social barriers, forms lasting connections and sets the stage for future success.

Our History

Milagro Center was founded in 1997 by several local visionary leaders motivated by the desire for community service centered on providing arts experiences to the economically-challenged neighborhood children.  Milagro, which means “miracle” in Spanish, motivates children and youth to “reach for the stars” while being confronted by the many adverse influences they face in the community. Milagro Center’s uniquely integrated programs have grown over the decades to focus on empowering these at-risk youth and their families to succeed, both in school and in life, having a resounding positive influence on our local Delray Beach community.

Milagro Center carries out its mission by providing afterschool, summer camp, out-of-school time, and ARTreach programs to underserved and academically-at risk children, youth, and teens in grades K-12 living in south Palm Beach County, Florida. Its STARS (grades K-5), Junior Teen Leadership (grades 6-8) and Teen Leadership (grades 6-12) programs center around four inter-related diverse and socially inclusive program components:

  • Academic instruction, tutoring, and reading intervention;
  • Cultural Arts enrichment (including art, musical instrument instruction, dance, digital technology, dramatic arts, voice);
  • The United Nations-endorsed Living Values Education curriculum;
  • Mentoring

This unique, innovative, and effective model allows Milagro’s children and teens to develop new skills, build self-esteem, and thrive socially and academically.  Milagro Center truly changes the course of these deserving children’s lives from repeating the recurring cycle of poverty to becoming self-sufficient and productive members of our community. Additionally, The BLUEPRINT Gallery, a professional art gallery housed at Milagro Center, provides ARTreach programs to over 450 children, teens and adults each year. The BLUEPRINT Gallery hosts numerous exhibits a year showcasing the many talents of artists in south Florida. A variety of programming is offered and can be designed based on an organization’s needs.

Board of Directors

Kurt Knaus, Board Chair
Kurt Knaus, Board Chair
PNC Bank Board Chair
David Worthington, Board Vice Chair
David Worthington, Board Vice Chair
Keter
Corey Mitleider, Board Treasurer
Corey Mitleider, Board Treasurer
NCCI
Lisa Cody, Board Secretary
Lisa Cody, Board Secretary
Twin Star Home
Latoya Dixon
Latoya Dixon
Palm Beach County Schools
Sarah Santangelo
Sarah Santangelo
DPR Construction
Nancy Singer
Nancy Singer
Community Volunteer
Brad Straka
Brad Straka
CreativeDrive
Joseph Sontz
Joseph Sontz
Community Volunteer
Silvia Evans, Board Member
Silvia Evans, Board Member
Palm Beach Accounting and Financial Services LLC
David A. Beale, Esq.
David A. Beale, Esq.
Law Offices of David A. Beale, P.A.
Michael Welsh
Michael Welsh
Locality Bank
Carla Lovett
Carla Lovett
SouthTech Schools

Our Talented and Professional Staff

Drop us your message and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

Barbara J. Stark, M.A.
President & CEO
BStark@milagrocenter.org

Gina Harding, PHR, SHRM-CP
Vice President, HR & Operations
GHarding@milagrocenter.org

Dawn Anderson
Program Compliance Manager
DAnderson@milagrocenter.org

Kenneth Arfa
Music Director
KArfa@milagrocenter.org

Anthony Bacchus
Director of Partnerships
ABacchus@milagrocenter.org

Laura Davis
Director of Volunteer and Corporate Engagement
ldavis@milagrocenter.org

Louis Elosta
Accountant
LElosta@milagrocenter.org

Hope Haynes
STARS Language Arts Teacher
hhaynes@milagrocenter.org

Chan-Dai Langworthy
Program Specialist, Jr. Teen Leadership/Teen Leadership Programs
Clangworthy@milagrocenter.org

Cristofer Lux
Operations Assistant
CLux@milagrocenter.org

Mildred Lux
HR & Operations Assistant
MLux@milagrocenter.org

Michael Mapp
STARS Program Director
mmapp@milagrocenter.org

Elias Medrano
Compliance and Grants Coordinator
EMedrano@milagrocenter.org

Glenn Mueller
Director of Grants Administration
GMueller@milagrocenter.org

Amura Powell
STARS Language Arts Teacher/Operations Coordinator
APowell@milagrocenter.org

Thomas Regis
Musical Instrument Instructor
TRegis@milagrocenter.org

Rick Rodriguez
Director of Creative Arts
RRodriguez@milagrocenter.org

Matt Sacks
Education Specialist, Junior Teen Leadership/Teen Leadership Programs
msacks@milagrocenter.org

Anthony Talton
Junior Teen Leadership Program Director
ATalton@milagrocenter.org

Andre Thaddies
Teen Leadership Program Director
athaddies@milagrocenter.org

Jeaneen West
Program Specialist
JWest@milagrocenter.org

Blair Williams
Teen Leadership Program Coordinator
bwilliams@milagrocenter.org

Danica Wuchenich
STARS SEL Art Teacher
dwuchenich@milagrocenter.org

Financial Stewardship

Milagro Center recognizes and appreciates the importance that accountability, transparency, and quantifiable results have for donors seeking confidence that their financial support will be utilized effectively and wisely.

Based on our annual financial reports, Milagro Center has continued to demonstrate its ability to efficiently and productively manage and grow its finances, as well as execute its long-standing mission in a fiscally responsible way. Donors can have confidence that Milagro Center’s mission to ensure the social and academic success of underserved children and youth through Cultural Arts, Living Values, Academic Support, and Mentoring is having a major and positive impact on our community.

We here at Milagro Center are committed to serving others with our core values of trust, empathy, transparency, safety, and excellence in programming.  We whole-heartedly believe that our culture of kindness and passion impacts our children, youth, families, and community at large, enabling and encouraging them to “Reach for the Stars”.

Thank you for your trust and for working in tandem with Milagro Center to invest in our future – today’s children who will become tomorrow’s leaders.

Audited Financials

990s

Annual Reports

2021 – Coming Soon

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

DONATE

now

WE APPRECIATE YOUR SUPPORT!

DONATE